Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
News:
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
This topic has not yet been rated!
You have not rated this topic. Select a rating:
Author Topic: Introduction: off target  (Read 646 times)
Administration
Webmaster: History Hunters
Administrator
Gold Member

OfflineOffline

The Eyrie

View Profile
« on: August 09, 2006, 07:12:15 PM »

Ha! I got here first, so let me offer you a warm welcome straight off.

As this is the first board in this category - Surveying - I won't be surprised if your topics are not all right on target. (I bet your surveying isn't always on target, either!) Also, not everyone is going to understand exactly what geophysics is. Let's not worry too much, then.

Me, though I'm no expert in this field, I've some experience and frankly, I love the subject. When I started out, the best we could do before digging was archival research, then taking a look at the site from as high up as possible, preferably in the morning, or evening light.

I remember the invention of GPR just a few years ago. A lot is happening, very fast. Maybe the joke that we won't have to dig at all to gain our data will one day come true.

Good then that we have a forum in which we can discuss this.

Solomon
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2006, 11:42:03 AM »

Thinking about the 'off-target' bit, let me tell you a story. It concerns a survey that never found what was supposed to be there.

I was helping out (in a business sense) a group of scientists based in Thanet (Kent, UK) and to earn an extra line of revenue, I persuaded them to do geophysical surveying. A client - property developer - intended to develop a site in the port of Ramsgate and to meet council regulations, he needed to survey the site as it was on top of a rubbish tip. The tip had been closed for four decades, covered and built over.